Skip to main content
VCOM Campus


A. Pat Merryman Endowed Medical Scholarship

Pat Merryman, committed to the betterment of healthcare in the Commonwealth of Virginia, established the scholarship in 2021 to award students from VCOM-Virginia. Award preference is given to a student who intends to practice primary care medicine in Virginia (internal medicine, family medicine, pediatrics or OB/GYN) and whose hometown residence is in the Commonwealth of Virginia.

Be The Change Scholarship

Be The Change Scholarship was established by Joseph M. Metz, a 2022 graduate of VCOM-Carolinas, in recognition of an outstanding osteopathic medical student who uses his or her medical school education to recognize fallacies in either our current understanding of disease or clinical care and develop solutions to improve such issue.

Blake E. Fought Memorial Endowed Scholarship

Named in honor of Blake E. Fought, the son of Mark and Amy B. Fought, DO, Class of 2008, this scholarship was established by the friends and family within the VCOM community to provide a lasting memorial to Blake and as a tribute to the Fought family.  The scholarship is available to a third or fourth year medical student in good academic standing at VCOM who has a child residing with him or her.

Blue Cross and Blue Shield of Alabama Scholars Program

The Blue and Cross Blue Shield Scholars Program, a partnership between Blue Cross and Blue Shield of Alabama and VCOM, provides a scholarship opportunity for third and fourth year medical students agreeing to practice as primary care or behavioral health physicians in an undeserved area of Alabama. 

Dennis and Kay Cannon Medical Scholarship

The Dennis and Kay Cannon Scholarship was created by their son Dr. Matthew D. Cannon in loving memory of his mother and in honor of his father, who both exhibited a lifelong compassion and commitment to improving the quality of life for others. This scholarship will help enable the success of VCOM-Carolinas students with demonstrated financial need who plan to practice in medically underserved areas of South Carolina.

Dr. Stephen Blood Emergency Fund

Established by the family, friends, and patients of Dr. Stephen Blood, this fund provides short-term loans to current VCOM students experiencing a crisis causing extreme financial distress that may threaten a student’s ability to continue his or her education at VCOM.

Edward Michael Feldman Endowed Medical Scholarship

Edward Michael Feldman, DO, was a trailblazing military physician who was awarded a Silver Star and two Bronze Stars, and he was nominated for the Congressional Medal of Honor for his service in Vietnam, making him the first and only DO to be nominated for the highest award given for valor in action. 

Frank Butler Rocovich Wellness Scholarship

The Frank B. Rocovich Scholarship was set up in memory of Frank B. Rocovich, who served as VCOM-Virginia’s Activities Coordinator and worked closely to support the Via Wellness program to promote healthy minds, bodies and spirits for everyone at VCOM.

Friends to Optometrists Scholarship

Founded by Eugene M. Bane, Jr., OD, in recognition of the positive relationship between osteopathic physicians and the profession of optometry, this scholarship is awarded to a VCOM-Virginia student who is committed to practice primary care in the Commonwealth of Virginia, and preference is given to a student originally from Buchanan County, Virginia.

H. Pat and Nancy Eisenhart Artis Endowed Medical Scholarship

Drs. H. Pat Artis and Nancy Eisenhart Artis, recognizing the growing need for scholarships, created this second endowment to award VCOM-Virginia medical students who have an undergraduate degree in Engineering from Virginia Tech. Dr. Pat Artis, Professor of Aerospace and Ocean Engineering at Virginia Tech, and wife, Dr. Nancy Eisenhart Artis, are committed to education and are tremendous supporters of VCOM, as well as Virginia Tech and Radford University.

Howard Levine Memorial Scholarship

The Howard Levine Memorial Scholarship was established in 2005 by family and friends of the late Howard Levine, DO. Dr. Levine practiced for many years in New Jersey and is remembered as compassionate and altruistic, as well as dedicated to the profession of osteopathic medicine.

Hughes Melton Scholarship for Rural Health

The Hughes Melton Scholarship for Rural Health, formed by the VCOM community to honor Dr. Melton, advocate for rural wellness and friend of the VCOM family, who passed away suddenly in 2019 from a tragic car accident. 

J & M Bircher Endowed Medical Scholarship

Mike and Judy Bircher, Blacksburg residents and current and former Standardized Patients at VCOM-Virginia, created this endowment in 2022. Having developed a great appreciation for the caliber of VCOM’s educational standards and training excellence, the Birchers’ scholarship awards medical students who have financial need, are in strong academic standing and wish to have an impactful future as a physician.

J. Michael Bernardo Memorial Scholarship

In memory of Mike Bernardo, Class of 2010, the family and friends of this special student have chosen a scholarship based on service that is awarded to students who need assistance to reach out to an underserved population to provide free medical care.

James F. and Nancy Wolfe Endowed Memorial Scholarship

Dr. James F. (Jim) Wolfe, Founding President and President Emeritus of the Edward Via College of Osteopathic Medicine (VCOM), passed away in 2022. Prior to his leadership role at VCOM, Dr. Wolfe’s career spanned 32 years at Virginia Tech. Dr. Wolfe and his wife, Nancy, who passed away in 2023, were at the heart of the College, its foundation and its students for many years.