Skip to main content
Alexis Stoner with Gunnar Brolinson_landscape.jpg

VCOM-Carolinas Faculty Recognized in First Annual Awards Ceremony

Alexis Stoner with Gunnar Brolinson
By Lily Collins -

On February 9, the Edward Via College of Osteopathic Medicine (VCOM)-Carolinas community gathered at the historic DuPre House to acknowledge the newest members of the faculty, the best of faculty teaching and research, and faculty promotions.

Congratulations to all the winners. We are grateful to every single one of our faculty members for their commitment to VCOM and its students

  • Researcher of the Year: Alexis Stoner, PhD, MPH, Discipline Chair for Epidemiology, Community & Public Health & Preventive Medicine
  • Biomedical Affairs Teacher of the Year: Jaime Foushee, PharmD, Department Chair for Biomedical Sciences
  • Clinical Affairs Teacher of the Year: Bethany Powers, DO, Discipline Chair for OMM
  • Outstanding Faculty of the Year from Biomedical Affairs: Joel Atance, PhD, Discipline Chair for Anatomy/Faculty for Anatomical Sciences & Physiology
  • Outstanding Faculty of the Year from Clinical Affairs: Hanna Sahhar, MD, Discipline Chair for Pediatrics 

New Faculty:

  • Marc Ciesco, DO, Discipline Co-Chair for Internal Medicine
  • David Eagerton, PhD, F-ABFT, Associate Professor of Pharmacology; recently appointed Interim Associate Dean for Biomedical Affairs
  • Kristine Lombardozzi, MD, FACS, FCCM, Discipline Chair for Surgery
  • Stanley Miller, MD, Discipline Co-Chair for Internal Medicine
  • Bidyut Mohanty, PhD, Discipline Chair for Cell Biology and Physiology
  • Cary Pellizzeri, DO, Assistant Professor of Anatomical Sciences

Recognition for External Awards and Appointments
Faculty recognized for awards and recognitions external to VCOM during the 2022 calendar year:

  • Ron Januchowski, DO- NBOME COMLEX-USA Level 2 CE Item Writer of the Year 2022
  • Jeffrey Cashman, DO and Lindsey Saleski, DO, MBA, FACEOP - Fellows of the American College of Osteopathic Family Physicians
  • Timothy Kowalski, DO - Distinguished Fellow American College of Osteopathic Neurologists and Psychiatrists
  • Faculty recognized for 2022 national or state committees or regional, state or national appointments:
  • NBOME Faculty – Stephan Brown, MD, PhD, Jaime Foushee, PharmD, Ron Januchowski, DO, Alexis Stoner, PhD
  • Jeff Cashman, DO - Appointed to the South Carolina Rural Physician Board
  • Tim Kowalski, DO: Trustee: American Osteopathic Association; Member: Veterans Administration National Academic Affiliates Council; Vice Chair AOA Bureau of Osteopathic Research and Public Health; Chair Committee on AOA
  • Matthew Cannon, DO: AACOM Board of Deans curriculum sub-committee, SCBio Executive Board of Directors, SCOMS Board of Trustees, Wellville Board
  • Tom Lindsey, DO: C3DO Taskforce for the NBOME, 2, CLASS Project for AAMC, 3. President SCOMS
  • Zoltan Hajdu, MD - American Heart Association
  • Jaime Foushee, PharmD – American College of Clinical Pharmacy Board Certified Pharmacotherapy Specialist Standard Setting Panel and National Subject Matter Expert
  • Amber Stroupe, DO - American College of Physicians - National Doctor's Dilemma Question Committee Team Lead and South Carolina Chapter Governor's Executive Council Member

Grant Funding Recognitions

  • Faculty who obtained new internal funding:
  • Krit Ritthipichai, DVM, MS, PhD: $35,000 VCOM-REAP grant - Manipulation of RBPMS to generate potent T-cell products with enhanced in vivo persistence
  • Luciana Schwab, PhD, Patrick Fisher, PhD, Jon Hagar, PhD: $40,000 VCOM-REAP Grant - Local and systemic inflammatory response in open-abdomen surgeries using vacuum-assisted closure with or without continuous irrigation direct peritoneal resuscitation
  • Dr. Stephen Brown /Dr. Jon Hagar: $50,000 VCOM / VMCVM One Health Grant - Deciphering Complex Regulatory Mechanisms Targeting Noncanonical NF-κB Signaling During Colorectal Cancer
  • Skip Garner, PhD /Dean Sutphin, PhD: $32,000 VCOM-REAP Grant - Utilization of CREDO – Electronic Clinical Records in International VCOM Clinics for Epidemiological Surveillance
  • Faculty who obtained new external funding:
  • Dr. Alexis Stoner was the PI on 3 external research grants awarded in 2022
    • $27,376 from the S.C. Center for Rural and Primary Healthcare (in conjunction with: SCDHEC) - MOSAIC: Mobile STD Assessment and Information Center – Rural Intervention
    • Undetermined amount award from National Association of County & City Health Officials (Submitted in conjunction with: SCDHEC) - I85COPE: I-85 Corridor Opioid Prevention and Education Program
    • Dr. Stoner and Tammy Whaley are co-PIs on a $419,716 from S.C. Center for Rural and Primary Healthcare for project “Addressing Health Inequity In South Carolina By Increasing Access To Primary Care”. Other faculty and staff listed on that grant include:
      Dr. Matthew Cannon, Lisa Carroll, MD, Doralyn Jones, DO, Dolores Muro, Gail Pittman, Dr. Tom Lindsey, Michael Parks, Stacey Stokes, Dr. Lindsay Tjiattas-Saleski, Dr. Ron Januchowski, Dr. Jeff Cashman, Dr. Kristine Lombardozzi, Raymond Romano, DO, Steven Lewis, MD

Faculty recognized for previously awarded grant funding in progress in 2022:

  • Dr. Stephan Brown: VCOM Research Institute Young Investigators Science Camp – Rotary Club of Spartanburg - $3,856
  • Drs. Ron Januchwoski, Alexis Stoner, Jeff Cashman and Gunner Brolinson, DO – HRSA COM Fellowship for Primary Care Transformation Leadership – 1,945,406
  • Dr. Alexis Stoner – SCDHEC - COVID-19 Community-Based Organization Outreach Initiatives – 179,375
  • Faculty recognized for 2021 REAP funded projects in progress in 2022:
  • JuliSu Dimucci-Ward, PhD, and Steve Enkemann, PhD
  • Dr. Krit Ritthipichai
  • Dr. Luciana Schwab, with Dr. Patrick Fisher
  • Dr. Skip Garner with Dr. Dean Sutphin
  • Dr. Stephan Brown with Dr. Jon Hagar
Share This Story: