Skip to main content
DTR_Lisa Miller Distinguished Leader Award.jpg

Dixie Tooke-Rawlins, DO, FACOFP, recipient of the 2021 Lisa Miller Distinguished Leader Award

Dixie Took Rawlins - Lisa Miller Distinguished Leader Award
By Desiree Hammett -

VCOM President and Provost, Dixie Tooke-Rawlins, DO, FACOFP, is the 2021 Lisa Miller Distinguished Leader Award recipient from the ULM Women’s Symposium. This award honors a woman who has demonstrated a continual level of notable, sustained, and outstanding contributions throughout her career; who has excelled within a single organization or through collaboration with others; and who makes an extraordinary effort to build relationships while providing exceptional guidance, leadership and dedication to her organization.

“Dr. Rawlins has had a lifelong career in the medical field. She is the Founding Dean of the VCOM system and is currently the President and Provost. She has founded medical schools in medically under-served areas across the country including VCOM-Louisiana at ULM,” said the person who nominated her for the award. “She has created leadership programs for women in the American Osteopathic Association. She is a past President of the American Osteopathic Foundation. She mentors and provides opportunities for women in the medical community. She started International Clinics to address women's health needs not only in the United States but in Latin America as well. She is well known and well respected in the medical community.”

Dr. Tooke-Rawlins was announced as the 2021 Lisa Miller Distinguished Leader Award recipient during the virtual Women’s Symposium event held on March 23.

Share This Story: